My 5 Favorite Guilty Pleasure Movies

1 Apr

by: Captain Oblivious

Guilty pleasure movies. Everybody has then. Movies that you can watch whenever the mood hits you and you aren’t sure how people would react if you told them you liked them. For guys I believe this may be a more sensitive subject. Women are supposed to love certain kind of movies and if you find the rare ones that like action and/or horror movies then marry her quick. It’s a little more difficult for men to admit (especially to other guys) what they watch in the dark recesses of their homes (not that sicko) but I will be brave. I will admit to you all my top five guilty pleasure movies. Be gentle.

5. G.I. Joe

I know. I know. I should hate this movie. Especially since that non acting piece of cardboard Channing Tatum is in it. But I’ll be damned if this movie isn’t mindless fun. Is it a “good” movie? Jesus no. Is it a “fun” movie? To me it is. Loaded with good action and cheesy characters it is like watching the cartoon all over again. And even if you hated the movie you gotta admit that Snake Eyes was a straight badass.

4. Gone With The Wind

A classic by every definition. I will readily admit that I watch this movie about twice a year. I always wondered why some people’s stigma to this movie is how long it is yet we can sit down and watch the extended cut of Return of the King which clocks in at 5 and half hours! If you want to see what a pimp was during the Civil War era watch Clark Gable show you how it’s done.

3. Mean Girls

Yea I like this movie. Big whoop. Wanna fight about it? I can tell you that Linsday Lohan is not the reason I like this. I believe it is the script by Tina Fey and the supporting characters that give this movie good replay value.

2. Shakespeare In Love

I will go ahead and tell you that I went to see this movie on opening weekend. Why? Cause i wanted to that’s why! I like British style comedies and this fit the bill. And Gwynith Paltrow’s boobs make an appearance so the movie can’t be all bad right?

1. Judge Dredd

If you know me then this comes as no surprise but this is the mother of all guilty pleasure movies. If it is good enough for J.D. and Turk on Scrubs then it is good enough for everybody (99th viewing!). I can’t begin to remember how many times I have watched this movie. I was one of the 10 people in the theater opening night and apparently we were the only ten that saw it in the country cause the movie bombed. But that matters not to me. Now….I wait not so patiently for my Blu-Ray release of this.

“I NEVER BROKE THE LAW, I AM THE LAW!!”

What about you? What are some of your guilty pleasure movies? Feel free to tell us. This is a no judgment zone…..unless you say Twilight. Then you are open for ridicule.

4 Responses to “My 5 Favorite Guilty Pleasure Movies”

  1. thoughtsappear April 1, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    Love Judge Dredd! Rob Schneider is hilarious.

  2. Naitch April 1, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    P.S. I Love You

    Good grief this movie breaks me down everytime but I love it!! Plus it has my man crushes of Gerard Butler and Jeffrey Dean Morgan!!

  3. uselesswarrior April 2, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    I didn’t know JDM was in P.S. I Love You. Think I will give it a watch now. I know the whole time I watch it I will be thinking of The Office episode where they debate Hilary Swank’s hotness.

Leave a Reply

