Wrestlemania 26 Results

29 Mar

by: Captain Oblivious

With the most stacked card in years how could Wrestlemania disappoint?

That is what I asked myself Sunday morning as I was getting ready for the 26th annual event. And for all intents and purposes WWE succeeded in bringing us another spectacle but yet somehow felt underwhelming after the show went dark. Don’t get me wrong it in no way was a bad Wrestlemania it came across as weak compared to the advertised card.

But it was not without it’s historic moments either. Here are the results along with my record for my predictions from last week.

1. ShoMiz defeated John Morrison and R-Truth to retain the Unified Tag Team Titles

Am I the only one that thinks that if they are not going to split the tag titles between show again they should make one belt? Anyway…I digest. This match was good….for five minutes. Seriously? That’s how long you give this. You build up Truth and Morrison to be beaten in five minutes? Now I did not expect them to win, ShoMiz should have retained here but for the first tag match at a Mania since 22 it should have been given longer.

Score: 6.5/10

Prediction: 1-0

2. Randy Orton defeated Cody Rhodes and Ted DiBiase in a Triple Threat Match

– This match did not pick up until Orton started getting solid offense in. The crowd made this match seem better than it was. When the crowd got hot for Orton is when it seemed to really get entertaining. Orton did his best Morton Anderson impression on Cody’s head and one RKO to DiBiase later Orton takes the win and hopefully leaves this god awful feud behind.

Score: 7/10

Prediction: 2-0

3. Jack Swagger (yes that Jack Swagger) won the Money in the Bank Ladder Match

After watching this match I have changed my mind and think that 10 guys is too many. I did love the Kofi stilt action as well as the Air Bourne (while not off the top of a ladder it was sweet anyway). Hardy seemed to take the bump of the night with his backdrop onto the ladder. When all was said and done it was Swagger, who until a month ago was not being used by WWE hardly at all, that fumbled the briefcase around before finally grabbing it for the win. Not the best MITB but not the worst either. Meh.

Score: 7/10

Prediction: 2-1

4. HHH defeated Sheamus for the WWE Cham……oh I’m sorry that’s what it should have read.

– I am trying to think of the last time HHH had a match at the top of the second hour at Wrestlemania before. I was pleasantly surprised with this match. Both men showcased their power offense with Sheamus controlling most of the match. And he did a good job doing that. While I thought Sheamus should have picked up the win here the match made him look very strong in defeat.

Score: 7.5/10

Prediction: 2-2

5. Rey Mysterio defeated CM Punk

– I called it! I knew it! Go read my predictions last week. I told you Mysterio would win because the writers are too lazy to have Punk win because then they would have to *gasp* do their jobs and write an interesting storyline involving Mysterio in the SES. The match was also waaay too short. 6 minutes for two guys that can bring it? The match was really good while it was going on so I can not fault Punk or Mysterio. And if I was Mysterio I would be thanking Punk for making me relative again on Smackdown.

Score: 7.5/10

Prediction: 3-2

6. Bret Hart defeated Vince McMahon in a No Holds Barred Match

– Thank God for this being a stacked card. This match did nothing but disappoint. I did not like the entire Hart family out there. It would have worked fine with just The Hart Dynasty. And I understand fans have been wanting to see Bret beat Vince for 13 years but how about making it an actual match not just a vicious beating of an old man. Vince can go in street fights. We all know this. This TV-PG crap is hurting the product and I hope someone realizes it sooner rather than later.

Score: 5.5/10

Prediction: 4-2

7. Chris Jericho defeated Edge to retain the World Heavyweight Championship

– Now were talking. The seventh match on the card and finally a fifteen minute match. While the first couple of minutes were slow going the match picked up about 5 or 6 minutes in an was really entertaining. I’m glad Jericho got a clean win at Wrestlemania. There is always time for Edge to win the title back. The back and forth of the last three or four minutes was really good and the spear off the table looked awesome.

Score: 8/10

Prediction: 4-3

8. Some old fat chick beat some other non wrestling hooker in a piss break match.

– With the TNA Knockouts being awesome every week and the WWE shelling out this sh** I believe it is time for them to dissolve the women’s division. At least for a few years.

Score: 0/10

Prediction: I didn’t predict this match because I didn’t care.

9. John Cena defeated Batista to win the WWE Championship

– I have read other sites and some people did not like this match. I actually did. While not as good as the Edge/Jericho match it did seem like a big deal main event match. It was on par with their match at Summerslam 2008 which I liked also. The near falls were believable and the crowd was completely into it. But we all knew the outcome before it started didn’t we? Batista’s reward for carrying the promo work and the entire feud for 6 weeks was he got to lose to Cena and we got to see another Cena triumphant moment at Wrestlemania…..snooz.

Score: 7.5/10

Prediction: 5-3

10. Undertaker defeated Shawn Michaels

– Bittersweet. That is the only way I can describe this match. Did it surpass last year’s match? I don’t believe so but it was certainly just as good as last years. The final two minutes and the emotional walk up the ramp for HBK will always be etched into my memory. The match was the stuff of legend just like last years. HBK and Taker proved that neither will never be surpassed when it comes to Wrestlemania moments. All I can do is appreciate that amazing main event and thank Shawn for giving us everything he had for 25 years.

Score: 9.5/10

Prediction: 6-3

Overall Show: 7.5/10

Leave a Reply

